About Thorpeness Country Club
The Country Club, originally known as the Kursaal, is a gabled black clapboard building sitting on top of a sand dune which opened on 25th May 1912 as part of the first phase of Thorpeness village, with the Meare, the centrepiece of this extraordinary village opening the following year. The club remained members-only for much of the 20th century.
Our summer activity programme is much the same as in previous years. It really hasn’t changed much in over 100 years and we rather doubt if there are any comparable institutions that have changed so little from the original concept of their founder.
The tennis tournaments and activities at the Country Club were a huge attraction and were definitely a contributing factor in the early success that Christine Janes nee Truman experienced in her tennis career. The Club has continued to expand and flourish as a tennis venue with the annual LTA Junior Ratings Tournament at Easter, coaching during the school holidays and a thriving ladies section which meets weekly throughout the year.
Today the Country Club hosts a wealth of events, weddings and celebrations and has managed to maintain and continue the unique traditions of Thorpeness throughout the last century where, most importantly, friendships are made that last a lifetime.
Thorpeness is a hidden gem that remains wonderfully timeless and a unique place for a Suffolk coastal break.
With a fascinating history, Thorpeness is no ordinary Suffolk village. Nearly a century ago, the architect, barrister and playwright, Glencairn Stuart Ogilvie set about creating a safe and healthy, fun packed holiday environment for his family and friends. A place where children could enjoy the magic and innocence of a traditional seaside holiday. And from this idea the Suffolk holiday village of mock-Tudor buildings arose amongst the purple heather and golden gorse set back from the stunning unspoilt beach.